Published in support of the UK Biodiversity Action Plan for black grouse

Contacts

Several organisations have advisers who are local experts on black grouse and their needs. You can arrange a free site visit, to find out what you can do to help these wonderful birds. As well as suggesting ways to improve habitats for black grouse, advisers can often help to find funding for the work to be undertaken. Some also organise training events for land managers and advisers who want to help black grouse.

Please note that e-mail addresses have not been provided as hyperlinks in order to reduce the amount of unsolicited, commercial e-mails.

England
Phil Warren, The Gillett, Forest-in-Teesdale, Barnard Castle, Co Durham DL12 0HA.
Tel: 01833 622208. E-mail: pwarren@gct.org.uk
The North Pennines Black Grouse Recovery Project is a partnership of the Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust, Ministry of Defence, Northumbrian Water, the RSPB, Sita Trust, North Pennines AONB Partnership and Natural England.

Wales
Chris Mellenchip, Maes-y-Ffynnon, Penrhosgarnedd, Bangor, Gwynedd LL57 2DW.
Tel: 01248 724476. E-mail: chris.mellenchip@rspb.org.uk.
The Wales Black Grouse Recovery Project is a partnership of the RSPB, Countryside Council for Wales and Forestry Commission Cymru.

Scotland

Argyll & Stirling
Alison Phillip, SWSRO. RSPB, 10 Park Quadrant, Glasgow, G3 6BS.
Tel: 0141 331 0993. E-mail: alison.phillip@rspb.org.uk

Dumfries & Galloway
Alison Graham, RSPB, The Old School, Crossmichael, Castle Douglas, Kirkcudbrightshire, DG7 3UW.
Tel: 01556 670464. E-mail: alison.graham@rspb.org.uk
The Dumfries & Galloway Black Grouse Recovery Project is a partnership of the RSPB and Scottish Natural Heritage, assisted by Forest Enterprise Scotland.

East Scotland
Bruce Anderson, RSPB, 1 Atholl Crescent, Perth, PH1 5NG.
Tel: 01738 630783. E-mail: bruce.anderson@rspb.org.uk.

Northern Scotland & Highland Council area
Dan Tomes, North Scotland Regional Reserves Officer. RSPB
Tel: 01463 228802. E-mail: dan.tomes@rspb.org.uk

Dr Adam Smith, Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust, Scottish Headquarters, Couston, Newtyle, Angus PH12 8UT
Tel: 01828 650779. E-mail: asmith@gct.org.uk.

Scottish Borders
Chris Land, Southern Uplands Partnership project.
E-mail: chris@sup.org.uk

Study Group contacts in Scotland
Strathspey
Desmond Duggan.  Tel: 01479 821896   E-mail: desmond.dugan@rspb.org.uk

Perthshire
Bruce Anderson.    Tel: 01738 630783.  E-mail: bruce.anderson@rspb.org.uk

Central Scotland Black Grouse & Capercallie Study Group
Yvonne Boles (Chair and Secretary) SWSRO
Simon Zisman (Survey Co-ordinator)  Tel:   0141 332 0373   E-mail: zismans@rpsgroup.com

Other areas of Scotland
Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust: David Baines, The Gillett, Forest-in-Teesdale, Barnard Castle, Co Durham DL12 0HA. Tel: 01833 622208.

RSPB: Andrew Wight, 1 Atholl Crescent, Perth PH1 5NG Tel: 01738 738234.
E-mail: andrew.wight@rspb.org.uk